Balatro

Balatro

View Stats:
TonyTheTGR Oct 17, 2024 @ 2:53pm
"The Eye" - Interesting Interaction
So, I was playing an oddball build with Four Fingers, Shortcut, and The Duo (the other jokers were all money)... and on my first hand, I played... a Straight Flush Pair.

BUT IT DIDN'T WIN. And I wasn't sure what I would be allowed to play after that, since it's one hand type only. I fiddled around and found out I could only play a Pair... and I don't know if that's because of the Joker order (The Duo was the last one triggered), or if this is just a weird interaction with The Eye's ruleset with this combo in particular... but I think it might be nice to understand the "one hand" logic if more than one hand is played.

Because this could be a Pair, a Straight, a Flush, *and* a Straight Flush, and there wasn't any indication (as you would normally have) of a hand formation being disallowed/not scoring like there would normally be, because I *did* meet the criteria on the first hand, and neither Straights nor Flushes would be scored. (Was not warned, score said "Not Allowed!" after playing it.)

I hesitate to call this a bug, but it COULD be one.
< >
Showing 1-2 of 2 comments
malogoss Oct 17, 2024 @ 3:09pm 
Your first hand was scored as a Straight Flush, the fact that Duo triggered changes nothing about that, it only helped with the hand score.

So any hand you played after could have been any hand except one, Straight Flush.

It's like if you played a Full House on your first hand. It does not prevent you from playing a pair, 3 of a kind or 2 pairs on the following hand.
Goblin Oct 17, 2024 @ 4:45pm 
Originally posted by TonyTheTGR:
SBUT IT DIDN'T WIN. And I wasn't sure what I would be allowed to play after that, since it's one hand type only.
See, there's your issue. The Eye isn't one hand type only, in case that wasn't obvious from what Malogoss said. It's the exact opposite. You're thinking of The Mouth.
< >
Showing 1-2 of 2 comments
Per page: 1530 50

Date Posted: Oct 17, 2024 @ 2:53pm
Posts: 2