Palworld

Palworld

View Stats:
Save file location?
Where is the save located? Trying to upload world to my dedicated server but can't seem to find the save locally.
< >
Showing 1-15 of 23 comments
the save is in %appdata%/Local/Pal/Save/Savegames

BTW if u manage to upload it without lost all your base and so on, reply me, can't upload the save and still inside the same guild.
Originally posted by Massomalon:
the save is in %appdata%/Local/Pal/Save/Savegames

BTW if u manage to upload it without lost all your base and so on, reply me, can't upload the save and still inside the same guild.
I managed to copy the world over from one dedicated server to another dedicated server. You need the target dedicated server to start up and create a new save folder first, then overwrite the contents with the contents from the old save.
The save location for Linux servers using SteamCMD is located at:
~/Steam/steamapps/common/PalServer/Pal/Saved/SaveGames/
I started hosting on my Main PC (dedi Server) and copying everything brings the world with it bu not my Char Save the Server creates a new Player Save for me :/

Any Idea?
Originally posted by THS.Shiniri:
I started hosting on my Main PC (dedi Server) and copying everything brings the world with it bu not my Char Save the Server creates a new Player Save for me :/

Any Idea?
In the Save folder there is a "Players" folder. Each players with its own ".sav" file. If you are hosting your world for other people with your solo game, the host player save file is "00000000000000000000000000000001.sav" but on a dedicated server it is different.

The best way to find out what the name of your ".sav" file is on a dedicated server is to create a new character, see which ".sav" file was created and use that id with your "00000000000000000000000000000001.sav" file to restore your character save.

You should only need to do that for the "00000000000000000000000000000001.sav" of the original world host save. The other player sav files from people that joined your world before moving to a dedicated server should work fine.
Originally posted by Alice:
Originally posted by THS.Shiniri:
I started hosting on my Main PC (dedi Server) and copying everything brings the world with it bu not my Char Save the Server creates a new Player Save for me :/

Any Idea?
In the Save folder there is a "Players" folder. Each players with its own ".sav" file. If you are hosting your world for other people with your solo game, the host player save file is "00000000000000000000000000000001.sav" but on a dedicated server it is different.

The best way to find out what the name of your ".sav" file is on a dedicated server is to create a new character, see which ".sav" file was created and use that id with your "00000000000000000000000000000001.sav" file to restore your character save.

You should only need to do that for the "00000000000000000000000000000001.sav" of the original world host save. The other player sav files from people that joined your world before moving to a dedicated server should work fine.


My Gaming PC hosted a dedicated Server over the PalServer.exe not ingame. Ive already located my PlayerSave which was some random Digits and renaming just resulted in forcing me to create another new Char on the Server. I try again and let you know wether it was w whoopsi or not :D
Update:

Nope still getting forced to create a New char i dont know why but the server is creating 2 saves with my old and New id (when the playersaves are empty)

Strange behaviour ... maybe dont gopy the whole palserver folder ? This way the server gets the same ID. Maybe i redownload a server creating a New server alltogether and replacing my World and Player save files afterwards
I got the same issue :( uploaded my world just fine, but i can't get my player save uploaded
My game crashed and now I cannot see my world again...so sad right now. All my progress gone. I see my save file is there, but..
Hi I don’t see my save files anymore and didn’t play world but played on the local can anyone help recover my local file?
I started my game on the palserver.exe (genius move I know) and spent like 45 minutes trying to move the char and world over to local so I could play on my deck, the farthest I got was moving the world over w/o char saves, but everything was locked bc it was a different guild. If the devs could make the transition easier with easier save files that would be great. Or if the community can figure out how to move the char save that would also be awesome. Especially bc turning on the multiplayer option on a single player world seems to be broken, at least it is for me.
Following if anyone can figure out how to do this. I'm guessing localhost saves are a bit different so the 000000...1.sav can't be use directly w/o some tinkering.

Tried to renamed the 000...1.sav and it was still forcing character recreation.
Originally posted by A Flying Poro:
Originally posted by Massomalon:
the save is in %appdata%/Local/Pal/Save/Savegames

BTW if u manage to upload it without lost all your base and so on, reply me, can't upload the save and still inside the same guild.
I managed to copy the world over from one dedicated server to another dedicated server. You need the target dedicated server to start up and create a new save folder first, then overwrite the contents with the contents from the old save.
The save location for Linux servers using SteamCMD is located at:
~/Steam/steamapps/common/PalServer/Pal/Saved/SavedGames/

it's
SaveGames
, not
SavedGames
.
Any update ?

Originally posted by THS.Shiniri:
Update:

Nope still getting forced to create a New char i dont know why but the server is creating 2 saves with my old and New id (when the playersaves are empty)

Strange behaviour ... maybe dont gopy the whole palserver folder ? This way the server gets the same ID. Maybe i redownload a server creating a New server alltogether and replacing my World and Player save files afterwards
Originally posted by Titus:
Any update ?

Originally posted by THS.Shiniri:
Update:

Nope still getting forced to create a New char i dont know why but the server is creating 2 saves with my old and New id (when the playersaves are empty)

Strange behaviour ... maybe dont gopy the whole palserver folder ? This way the server gets the same ID. Maybe i redownload a server creating a New server alltogether and replacing my World and Player save files afterwards

PalServer/Pal/Saved/Config/[Server]/GameUserSettings.ini

In this file, there is a property called DedicatedServerName. I ran into the issue above yesterday. That property determines what save to load. You can do one of two things.

1. You can rename your world's save file to the new GUID you see getting generated (has some side-effects, it's what I originally did).

2. Change that DedicatedServerName property and it should just select the old world if the name matches.

[Server] just depends on if you are running a LinuxServer or WindowsServer. I had this issue when moving my server from my Windows machine to my Linux machine that I use for server hosting. Both have this file and that property and use it for determining what save to use.

Hope that helps.
< >
Showing 1-15 of 23 comments
Per page: 1530 50

Date Posted: Jan 19, 2024 @ 6:58am
Posts: 23