ratoN♛ Nov 18, 2014 @ 2:09am
My skins gone from my inventory, HELP me maybe?
Hey, yesterday i started to trade through ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥, i had four items, p250 splash and M4A1-S guardian (to cheap items, ♥♥♥♥ em). Someone offered me a knife and sent me a picture link, it was saved as a screensaver, i opened it, it didn't open and the next minute i checked my items they were gone, not all of them but only my skins. I don't know if it was his fault or the STEAM fault, but all that matters is my skins. Was he some kind of a hacker or whatever? I'm new to this STEAM thing.
Thanks!
< >
Showing 1-10 of 10 comments
Cathulhu Nov 18, 2014 @ 2:10am 
http://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/1/35221584722506312/
You seem also to be new at computers and common sense.
Why in the hell would you execute a Screensaver file from a total stranger? They are nothing more than an EXE with another name. He wasn't a hacker, he was a phiser and you fell for it like a dumb idiot.
ratoN♛ Nov 18, 2014 @ 2:40am 
Originally posted by Cathulhu:
Why in the hell would you execute a Screensaver file from a total stranger? They are nothing more than an EXE with another name. He wasn't a hacker, he was a phiser and you fell for it like a dumb idiot.
Dude, how the ♥♥♥♥ could i know that a screensaver can make my items delete? Okay, but thanks for the answer anyway.
crunchyfrog Nov 18, 2014 @ 2:46am 
You need to do the following:

Firstly contact support (you'll need to create a support account if you don't have one). Ask them for the items back.

Now you MUST remove the malware. Follow these steps precisely:
(1) Run your antivirus suite's INTENSIVE scan and let it remove any nasty stuff. When finished, download Malwarebytes' Antimalware and let that do the same.
(2) Reboot your PC.
(3) Run them both again, one after the other. If they remove nothing further, NOW change your passwords to Steam and your email. If data IS still removed, go back to step (2)
Cathulhu Nov 18, 2014 @ 2:54am