Install Steam
login
|
language
简体中文 (Simplified Chinese)
繁體中文 (Traditional Chinese)
日本語 (Japanese)
한국어 (Korean)
ไทย (Thai)
Български (Bulgarian)
Čeština (Czech)
Dansk (Danish)
Deutsch (German)
Español - España (Spanish - Spain)
Español - Latinoamérica (Spanish - Latin America)
Ελληνικά (Greek)
Français (French)
Italiano (Italian)
Bahasa Indonesia (Indonesian)
Magyar (Hungarian)
Nederlands (Dutch)
Norsk (Norwegian)
Polski (Polish)
Português (Portuguese - Portugal)
Português - Brasil (Portuguese - Brazil)
Română (Romanian)
Русский (Russian)
Suomi (Finnish)
Svenska (Swedish)
Türkçe (Turkish)
Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)
Українська (Ukrainian)
Report a translation problem
If you look at the rulings for Field Barrier, it doesn't stop Clear World from destroying itself if you don't pay it's cost, same applies here, if you can't pay the cost, the card destroys itself.
Mystic Mine's self caboom effect is different, it's an effect that activates in the end-phase if the conditions are met, it's not a maintenance effect.
For costs, it works like this: do A or B happens, but you must do A or B, you can't do neither. In Stromberg's case, you either banish 10 cards or the siege of the castle is complete and it falls. If you can't banish 10 cards, the card must be destroyed and you can't stop it.
Now you can keep that in mind for next time, if you think you got a solid plan, check the rulings first :p
And it's not a weird ruling, it's just how costs work. A or B must happen, one or the other. Mystic Mine's self destruct isn't a cost, it's an activation, so any effect that would stop spells from activating their effects would also prevent MM from destroying itself.
But for costs, it's different. No matter the card type, if it has a cost, A or B must happen.