Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links

Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Links

View Stats:
Nekshe Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:09pm
Discard =/= send from hand to graveyard ?
Hello, is discarding from hand the same as "sending a card from hand to graveyard" ?

Because im trying to play an effect that says "send a card from you hand to graveyard" and its not activating an effect of "when you discard this card".
< >
Showing 1-9 of 9 comments
Pepper Pimienta Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:17pm 
i think they are actually two different things so i would say they are not the same" but welcome to yugioh where a lot of the rullings don't even make since
DUBINA Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:18pm 
send and discard is 2 different things in the game. however there is also 2 differences of discard in the game: discard for a cost to activate a card and discard for effect to resolve a card.
you should be more detailed in your post for me to be able to provide you with a full answer, like which cards are involved.
Nekshe Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:20pm 
Originally posted by DUBINA:
send and discard is 2 different things in the game. however there is also 2 differences of discard in the game: discard for a cost to activate a card and discard for effect to resolve a card.
you should be more detailed in your post for me to be able to provide you with a full answer, like which cards are involved.
Fabled Ganashia and Fabled Soulkius
Pepper Pimienta Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:20pm 
Originally posted by DUBINA:
send and discard is 2 different things in the game. however there is also 2 differences of discard in the game: discard for a cost to activate a card and discard for effect to resolve a card.
you should be more detailed in your post for me to be able to provide you with a full answer, like which cards are involved.
yeah i thought it was something like that this game is a game of loopholes
DUBINA Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:31pm 
Originally posted by Nekshe:
Originally posted by DUBINA:
send and discard is 2 different things in the game. however there is also 2 differences of discard in the game: discard for a cost to activate a card and discard for effect to resolve a card.
you should be more detailed in your post for me to be able to provide you with a full answer, like which cards are involved.
Fabled Ganashia and Fabled Soulkius
well yes , thats an obvious difference. the card needs to be used the way it is instructed in the text of the card.
Nekshe Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:39pm 
Originally posted by DUBINA:
Originally posted by Nekshe:
Fabled Ganashia and Fabled Soulkius
well yes , thats an obvious difference. the card needs to be used the way it is instructed in the text of the card.

Well, as both are part of the same deck, and "send from hand to the graveyard" could very well be a synonym of discarding, then i guess its just natural to assume they are the same thing
Sparse Dunes Aug 9, 2019 @ 6:16pm 
Originally posted by Nekshe:
Originally posted by DUBINA:
well yes , thats an obvious difference. the card needs to be used the way it is instructed in the text of the card.

Well, as both are part of the same deck, and "send from hand to the graveyard" could very well be a synonym of discarding, then i guess its just natural to assume they are the same thing
why would they do that though? They don't do things like that intentionally.

That's the thing with Yugioh. There are a lot of "if" "ands" "or" "buts" and you gotta read through all of them to really understand the game.

Discardsing and sending cards to the graveyard is very similar to destruction or non-destruction. They're both sent to the graveyard, but one isn't classified as destroyed meaning it bypasses cards like Yubel or Nephys' revival effect.
Last edited by Sparse Dunes; Aug 9, 2019 @ 6:20pm
Obsidian Dragoon Aug 9, 2019 @ 6:59pm 
They are not the same mechanic, even though they are functionally the same.

Sending a card mostly encompasses everything Discard does. However, Sending a card to a location means it has to go directly from X to Y. If an effect otherwise blocks that, you cannot "send to X" for costs. Discard (as long as it doesn't specify a place for it to go to) would resolve its destination normally.
Soda Aug 9, 2019 @ 7:03pm 
Hi, Official TCG Judge here:

Originally posted by DUBINA:
send and discard is 2 different things in the game. however there is also 2 differences of discard in the game: discard for a cost to activate a card and discard for effect to resolve a card.

Dubina has adequately explained that sending from hand to GY and discarding are different things.

If there's any further questions, feel free to contact me.
< >
Showing 1-9 of 9 comments
Per page: 1530 50

Date Posted: Aug 9, 2019 @ 2:09pm
Posts: 9