Magic Duels

Magic Duels

View Stats:
Atty Jan 29, 2017 @ 10:21am
What happens when you bounce Brisela?
Newb question, but does her controller get both Gisela and Bruna returned to their hand? Or does she simply dissolve as if she were a token?
< >
Showing 1-10 of 10 comments
Flacido Domingo Jan 29, 2017 @ 10:25am 
Both halves are affected at the same time, so Gisela and Bruna are both returned to hand.
Atty Jan 29, 2017 @ 10:32am 
What if you put her back on top of owner's library? In which order would they be stacked?
Flacido Domingo Jan 29, 2017 @ 11:02am 
Card owner chooses the order in which they are placed on top, without revealing it.

Google Elritch Moon Release Notes for a detailed rules blurb on melded cards.
Azael Ijima δ Jan 29, 2017 @ 11:46am 
Since we'll be talking about meld creatures i have some questions too, i was never able to face those situations in game but just in case it's better to be informed if it happen someday. ^^

It's all about mana cost really, for exemple Gisela is a 4 CMC and Bruna a 7 CMC, when they meld, Brisela will keep the higher mana cost (7) or an addition of the two pre-meld creatures making it 11 CMC ? Or something tottaly different ?

So i can know how many energy i need to take control of Brisela with Confiscation Coup.
Same for Fatal Push with Revolt Triggered, can it kill a Hanweir, the Writhing Township ?

Thank for your response. :)
Darkclaw3050 Jan 29, 2017 @ 11:58am 
Originally posted by IHiO_Yakino:
It's all about mana cost really, for exemple Gisela is a 4 CMC and Bruna a 7 CMC, when they meld, Brisela will keep the higher mana cost (7) or an addition of the two pre-meld creatures making it 11 CMC ? Or something tottaly different ?

712.3b While the two cards of a meld pair are on the battlefield as a melded permanent, the object represented by those cards has only the characteristics of the combined back face, except that its converted mana cost is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. If a permanent is copying a melded permanent, the converted mana cost of the copy is 0.
Azael Ijima δ Jan 29, 2017 @ 12:05pm 
Originally posted by Darkclaw3050:
712.3b While the two cards of a meld pair are on the battlefield as a melded permanent, the object represented by those cards has only the characteristics of the combined back face, except that its converted mana cost is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. If a permanent is copying a melded permanent, the converted mana cost of the copy is 0.

Ah nice, so Brisela is indeed 11 and Hanweir stay 3 since he meld with a land.
Al_kemial Jan 30, 2017 @ 2:54am 
So a dislacement wave for 0 mana would work on the copy and not the meldded brisela...?
pjfeigel Jan 30, 2017 @ 2:58am 
Originally posted by Al_kemial:
So a dislacement wave for 0 mana would work on the copy and not the meldded brisela...?
If your opponent copied your Brisela with Saheeli's Artistry, then it would have a CMC of 0, while yours would have a CMC of 11.

If you cast the Wave with an X of 2 (since you can't cast spells with CMC 3 or less), then it will bounce their Brisela token copy, but leave yours alone.
Mjollnir49172 Jan 30, 2017 @ 2:59am 
Originally posted by Al_kemial:
So a dislacement wave for 0 mana would work on the copy and not the meldded brisela...?

Yes, except you can't cast a 2 mana spell, and it would be stupid to copy a brisela since it's a legendary creature.
Al_kemial Jan 30, 2017 @ 3:02am 
I didn't expect such a quick answer. thanks.
Last edited by Al_kemial; Jan 30, 2017 @ 3:43am
< >
Showing 1-10 of 10 comments
Per page: 1530 50

Date Posted: Jan 29, 2017 @ 10:21am
Posts: 10