Magic: The Gathering Arena

Magic: The Gathering Arena

Burrowgaurd mentor Does not combo with cottontail caretaker
Why wouldn't burrowgaurd mentors offspring not have his ability if the offspring reads make a copy
< >
Beiträge 115 von 25
I'd love to try and help, but I'm not gonna sit here and try to decode the riddle that you've presented. Can you put in a little more effort and actually explain what the scenario was, and what happened that was different from your expectations/understanding?
Burrowgaurd mentor doesn't get the ability that makes him bigger per creature on the board when you copy him with offspring. He just becomes a 1/1 with trample and just stays 1/1
If you copy him or make tokens of him in other way's he keeps the ability. I don't understand why he wouldn't get it when you offspring him.
Yeah it's a weird rules interaction because of how offspring is worded. The 1/1 part overwrites the */* part.
that does make since except for the fact that it says make a copy which should allow the ability to remain and it would just have a base of 1/1. I think who ever made the ruling is wrong.
it should come out bigger then original by 1/1.
It's just baffling that broken combos are allowed and small things like this are not.
insidious roots deck and rackdos join-up + abuelos awakening but we draw the line at allowing you to get a 2 drop for 1. not to mention the artifacts insanity
Ursprünglich geschrieben von sanders.robert85:
insidious roots deck and rackdos join-up + abuelos awakening but we draw the line at allowing you to get a 2 drop for 1. not to mention the artifacts insanity
You could test this by the way by using a different thing that does something similar like Coiling Rebirth on the mentor and see if it also makes a 1/1 (it should).

And I am fairly sure the devs simply did not even consider you giving this creature offspring when they made it. I think they assumed as they always do that the players will never find corner cases.
Yea i do understand that and the fact of how they ruled on cards like this but, they have been doing this for longer than anyone else. I just expect them to pay more attention and do better. Maybe this is the first instance of a card like this being copied in this way. it just seemed to me that the cards were made specifically for each other based on other things in play. I really think this is an exception to that ruling.
Ursprünglich geschrieben von sanders.robert85:
Yea i do understand that and the fact of how they ruled on cards like this but, they have been doing this for longer than anyone else. I just expect them to pay more attention and do better. Maybe this is the first instance of a card like this being copied in this way. it just seemed to me that the cards were made specifically for each other based on other things in play. I really think this is an exception to that ruling.
There have been copy effects that set the power and toughness to another value for quite a while. Croaking counterpart is a recent one, Soul separator is an older one. The rules clarification for this sort of effect is almost a decade old:

https://scryfall.com/card/emn/199/soul-separator
"If the copied creature card has an ability that defines its power and toughness, such as that of Sage of Ancient Lore, the Spirit token will still have base power and toughness 1/1. (2016-07-13)"

You want an exception to a long-defined rule based on how timestamps work, with plenty of clarifications over the years because you think one interaction would be kinda cool? No. If they made these sorts of exceptions, the game rules would be a complete mess. There are enough fringe cases where rules interactions confuse people when the rules are properly followed, they don't need more because cards ignore a rule "just because". If it was meant to work like you said, the ability would be along the lines of "~ gets +1/+1 for each creature you control". It is not.
it would work if it was a 0/0 worded with gets additional +1/+1 per creature, it said base so no dice. replacement effect wins
PJ 22. Sep. 2024 um 15:58 
Offspring makes a 1/1, which means it's not a */*. This is actually fairly simple to understand.
Zuletzt bearbeitet von PJ; 22. Sep. 2024 um 15:59
I do understand how the ruling works. I'm more pushing the fact that there are legal combos way more powerful. I understand how the ruling works and I understand it makes it a 1/1. But when you offspring the card it actually removes the ability from the copy. Offspring has no wording that would remove an ability from the card. I would be more inclined to accept that it doesn't get the effect if it copied the effect on the token and greyed it out. The way it is now it seems more like they coded it wrong or just decided to be lazy about it.
I do understand really, I do. Although i still believe that with out word saying it removes specific effects it should still get the effect.I kinda don't care if it messes with the games mechanics. If your are gonna put in cards that can mess with the game mechanic so hard you have to make specific rulings to fix the game just don't make it. The game has a long running streak of every new set has to be more and more powerful to force everyone to keep buying cards. You know pushing there pay to win and cheat while shuffling game model.
< >
Beiträge 115 von 25
Pro Seite: 1530 50

Geschrieben am: 22. Sep. 2024 um 8:12
Beiträge: 25