Siyano Jan 20, 2018 @ 3:50pm
Creating a game?
Hello everyone, since I have a lot of time to spend I would want to start creating a game
I have some coding knowledge already (althought its been a long time), I wanted to create a card game, so I would start with the barebone of the game and prototype it
-What would you suggest as a platform for the "easiest" way to do it?
-A more advanced question: How do you code the barebone rules of the card game? like say I want to create a hearthstone or a clash royal?

Thank for your help! :)
Last edited by Siyano; Jan 20, 2018 @ 3:54pm
< >
Showing 1-10 of 10 comments
GREG Jan 20, 2018 @ 4:11pm 
You can use Unreal Engine 4 who is free. or unity
Keres Jan 20, 2018 @ 4:14pm 
The platform of course PC and you should learn Unity engine. It's fairly simple as far as I know.
Coding rules is not straight forward it depends on your design first then you need to accountfor expandability and maintainability of your code, so if you don't have a grasp of OOP and design principles I strongly suggest you learn those. Also you need at least one other person , preferrably a graphics designer to help you, maybe even another prgrammer if you're serious. But without a working engine/framework you're gonna spend some time building that instead of your game. I mean layout basic graphics options, windown resizing, fullscreen, etc. Only then you would create your rendering : draw to screen, your game and update loop and so forth. User interface, events. There really is no "easy" way to do these things if you want a good result.
Siyano Jan 20, 2018 @ 4:18pm 
@bond james bond 007 I want to start with the base stuff, barely any graphics for now (so I dont need a graphic designer), just want to have fun alone, making a little something you can play alone maybe.
I have some knowledge of OOP and design.
so I should go with unreal engine
Marcelo Jan 20, 2018 @ 4:22pm 
Hola
Marcelo Jan 20, 2018 @ 4:22pm 
:steamhappy:
Keres Jan 20, 2018 @ 4:26pm