Project Zomboid

Project Zomboid

Voir les stats:
Multiplayer Server Restart
I know that if you delete the contents of the "C:\Users\<username>\Zomboid\Sandbox" folder you will reset the server but is there anyway to reset the server and still keep your character?
< >
Affichage des commentaires 1 à 10 sur 10
undo.gz (Banni) 21 févr. 2014 à 13h13 
PZ MULTIPLAYER IS TERRIBLE ATMMM<
Dernière modification de undo.gz; 21 févr. 2014 à 13h13
nsK 21 févr. 2014 à 14h02 
I haven't tried it yet, but I do not think so. At least not yet.


Dr Freeman a écrit :
PZ MULTIPLAYER IS TERRIBLE ATMMM<
http://steamcommunity.com/app/108600/discussions/0/540734255172867186/#c540734255186362198
It's possible to keep character after server restart, it happened to me and it's great so we don't have to start from sratch again. As i'm not hosting PZ games for now, no idea how it works.
Sorry for revival here but I managed to reset my server only after I deleted the "servertest" folder and all the "map XXX-XXX" (where X is a number) files in my character folder.

Also to move the character to your friends server you will want to delete all those map XXX-XXX files (not the map files without the numbers).

I found it real strange that when I joined his server with that method WITHOUT deleting those files I ended up in his server but with the exact same local area from my old playthrough. As in there were still items on the ground and sheets over windows in the house I was in even though it was on a different server. Strange.

Anyways this should work just fine.
It seems all the character info is stored on the player's computer, not the server.

You can find the multiplayer saves in folders under c:\users\<user>\Zomboid\Multiplayer

Lots of the files are the map data/status, so you'd want to not use those, but map_p.bin seems to store your character's inventory and skills, etc.

So to actually reset a server properly, server has to delete it's saves. And players need to remove their saves too... Players that keep that keep all their files will keep their stats and artifacts of the old map.... players that only keep their map_p.bin file keep their stats/inventory, but have other stuff reset.
In my experience, even a soft reset will delete all characters. My friend recently did a soft reset on his 25c server we play on as we had quite a few bodies and wanted to clean up the floors of our fortress.

After the soft reset we both had to create new characters.

(As an aside, the soft reset also destroyed all of our loot.)

So I can't imagine it would be any different with a proper server wipe; clearly my multiplayer character wasn't stored locally, or else him doing a soft reset wouldn't have forced me to create a new one.

Hard to say though, multiplayer is buggy right now particularly on the administration side of things.
Onlinetest build, Characters are saved client side.
At least for 25b, characters are stored client side (map_p.bin). I wiped my server and one of my players was able to create a new character, and then replace the new map_p.bin file with the old one to restore his old character.
DirtyLookTwice a écrit :
At least for 25b, characters are stored client side (map_p.bin). I wiped my server and one of my players was able to create a new character, and then replace the new map_p.bin file with the old one to restore his old character.
Yep.
I found that the easiest way to migrate these characters to a new server is to go into "C:\Users\Sherrick\Zomboid\Server\servertest.ini" There should be a value labeled "serverPlayerID". I changed this value to match what it was on my old server and it accepted my character like nothing.
< >
Affichage des commentaires 1 à 10 sur 10
Par page : 15 30 50

Posté le 21 févr. 2014 à 13h01
Messages : 10