Steam Greenlight
Memes McGee 5 listopada 2012 o 20:03
Picking an Engine
I am fairly new to game development however I am trying to pick it up as I have a few ideas I wish to create (most of which are small and simply for my own amusement). However, I have had difficulties in selecting an engine to dedicate myself to.

I have looked mostly at Unreal and Unity however I have looked a little bit at Source as well. I like Unity as it has a very easy to use interface, however I feel the UDK has better built-in graphics and an equally good interface. (I haven't tried Unity 4 however). Since I am new however, I do not want to commit to buying the Unreal Engine and discover I cannot handle its programming style. I like the idea of Source, as it provides neccessities and I do not have to worry about licensing until I am ready to ship the game. I have heard however that Source's editing tools are out of date and the engine is becoming outdated as well.

I am sorry if I should be taking these questions elsewhere, but I felt I could get some help from Greenlight's community.

Thanks!
< >
Wyświetlanie 1-11 z 11 komentarzy
Neon Nanite 5 listopada 2012 o 20:19 
So with your post I am assuming you have never programmed before, but want to make 3D games? Unity engine is not a bad place to start, although you should try to learn as much about programming before starting making full fledged games.
In programming we usually advice people to begin by programming stuff like tetris and breakout and such since it gives you the foundation you need to create more advanced stuff.
As much as it would be awesome, you can not start out making large 3D games. First you learn the fundamentals.
You could go a few routes. You could start with a game engine like Unity or UDK, which are mostly suited towards 3D development, and has an incredibly hefty price tag if you want the PRO edition. The scripting languages are javascript and C# for Unity. Not sure about UDK.