Steam Greenlight

Help pick new games for Steam

Browse through the entries here and rate up the games you want to see made available via Steam

Submit your product
PARADIGmSHIFT_x8 Sep 23, 2013 @ 7:54pm
DLL Wrapper
So from what I understand, one can create a game in any programming language and submit to steam, but in order to use steam's API, one would need write a DLL wrapper in C++ presumably.

With that said, can someone to point me to some simplified articles so I can understand what a dll is, what part of my code i need to wrap, and how to do it. My background is in web development and I've work with php, javascript and such, but software (or better yet, game) development is a whole 'nother beast with compilers, .exe .dll etc...

I haven't leant toward any programming language yet and quite frankly C++ scares the crap out of me so i wanted to look into something simpler like C#, Python, Haxe etc.... (any suggestions here would be nice as well). I'm not against learning C++ though. Part of me feels that its best to just suck it up and just learn the beast.

Anyways, I've check out a few articles and from what i can understand is: say we create a game in C#, so we have myGame.cs which will compile into myGame.exe and (here's where I'm guessing) we create a file called myDll.dll which contains functions written in C++ and then called in myGame.cs? If this is correct, do i write those same functions in C# within myGame.cs and call the .dll file?

Here's the link where i got some info from: http://cygwin.com/cygwin-ug-net/dll.html

If any anyone help me understand this properly? Possibly some sudo code would be great or even real code might even be better
Showing 1-3 of 3 comments
< >
AusSkiller Sep 24, 2013 @ 4:51am 
Originally posted by PARADIGmSHIFT_x8: