Steam Greenlight

Help pick new games for Steam

Browse through the entries here and rate up the games you want to see made available via Steam

Submit your product
Hooch Jan 5 @ 4:12pm
Why StarSonata 2 is Dead to me.
I have been a fan of StarSonata since August 2005. I have multiple in game accounts with fully leveled characters. But I must now part ways with this game, and here is why, and why you should not only avoid this game but ALL games that follow the same path. It is up to us the consumers to make our requirements known.

I work in the IT field, and pay close attention to news, so it should come as no suprise to anyone that the Summer of Snowden has hit the Tech Community very very hard in the guts. Both as a wake up and as a call to action.

I recently posted on the StarSonata suggestions forum, asking them to please implement some form of client server encryption, in light of the news from the past 7 months a request like this should come as no suprise to anyone. Google, Yahoo, and others have already begun tranisitioning to HTTPS by default as per the EFF recomendations, as well as the IETF. So it came as a great suprise to me to find out that less than 24 hours after my post, it was deleted. The title was, "The Cypherpunks were right, encrypt all packets". In this post I stated that I was tired of seeing information transmittied in the clear between my client and the server.

This choice is of cource completely up to the developer, they have every right to do this, just as I have every right to not use them, and find someone that follows the Free as in Freedom principle.

It is past time for us the consumers to make it known that we will not accept anything less than secure by default from ALL of our software providers.

Shame on Developers who do not implement SSL/TLS by default.
Showing 1-11 of 11 comments
< >
Graeme- Coarse Gentleman Jan 5 @ 4:12pm 
Nothing to do with Greenlight...
Hooch Jan 5 @ 4:16pm 
This game is waiting to be green lit.