Portal 2

Community maps. For science.
Welcome to Aperture Laboratories, home of the Perpetual Testing Initiative. Easily create, share and play test chambers authored by and for the Portal 2 community. Do your part! Contribute to Science!
Geekii Bookworm 3 Feb 19 @ 3:00pm
P2 Authoring Tools doesn't run the map
Alrighty, firstly, thanks for reading, I'm really hoping I can get some help here. I'm new to map-making, so far I've made 3 using the workshop. I've played a few really great maps made by others of this wonderful community, and it was very obvious that they were made using the authoring tools, so, I decided, why not learn myself?

I downloaded the tools via steam, and I followed: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Level_Design_Introduction_(Portal_2)/Your_First_Level

this guide to start me out. I did everything that was listed, and I am going to assume I did it correctly. However, when I try to run the map, I can't, and I have no clue as to why.

Is it because it's attempting to launch the game when, according to steam, I'm already "playing" the authoring tools?

I run Windows 7, and my OS is, I beleive, a 64 bit. Any help at all would be appreciated. I don't want to publish the map to the workshop for obvious reasons, one being it isn't a playable map, since I followed the instructions of the URL above, two being, even if it WAS an actual map, I'd want to test it out myself first.
Showing 1-15 of 19 comments
< >
ƦɅƉ∑LIƬE 101 Feb 19 @ 3:50pm 
yuou probable have a leak in your map all maps must have all walls fully enclosed if they do not the map will not run
Geekii Bookworm 3 Feb 19 @ 3:52pm 
I'm pretty sure I've got the walls fully enclosed, but I'll check again.
ƦɅƉ∑LIƬE 101 Feb 19 @ 3:53pm 
also make sure that only the walls are outside nothing else
Geekii Bookworm 3 Feb 19 @ 4:20pm