The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Find the best mods for your game
Finding and installing your favorite mods is easier than ever before. Mod-makers also enjoy a streamlined process for uploading mods directly to Steam. Click here to learn how.
enokox Feb 6, 2014 @ 6:08pm
creation kit and recoloring textures
I have problem with something probably very obvious since can't find it in any tutorial
I want to make new clothes recolor ( from existing file just change color) I am very new in modding but have some experiences with photoshop.

So far I managed to find item I want to use in cration kit duplicate the object in object window rename it and save my project as ESP file. but it creates only this file. so I am searching for export textures.

when I search for tutorials they speaks about BSA file which I don't have at this stage. and not sure if I need it for personal use only. ( some tutorials says it's not possible to export textures from creation kit)

so I tried create archive in creation kit. it doesn't make any BSA file ( as for anyone in tutorials)

so I search for tutorial how to create BSA file. but these tutorials requires already having exported possibly needed textures, meshes etc.

I even have program to extract from BSA file.

all tutorials i am finding doesn't seems to include this little bit I need to know. they mostly only changes stats of items and save it as ESP

or they recolor directly textures in skyrim textures BSA file

I will be searching further, but probably it's something obvious for those with english as native language
Showing 1-14 of 14 comments
< >
zeromaveric 5 Feb 6, 2014 @ 9:57pm 
the BSA files are in your skyrim/data folder. you'll see a bunch of files labeled Skyrim - Animations.bsa, Interface.bsa, Meshes.bsa, etc. just open up the Textures.bsa file using something like BSAopt[www.nexusmods.com] and search for the .dds file that corresponds to the armor you wish to edit
enokox Feb 7, 2014 @ 2:42am