In ye olde days of ancient (ie, last week), if I wanted to see if people in my gaming group were doing anything, I would just click the "Groups" tab in my friends window, and then expand the relevant group. It would show me the members online and ingame, nice and simple.
Instead, now when I click to expand a group... it shows me an avatar for the group (with a dropdown arrow that has exactly the same options as the one 20 pixels above), and the option to "View all members" that opens the Community page in the Steam browser.
This is a problem for 2 reasons: 1. It's an extra step, for no appreciable reason - and poorly implemented, 2. The community page isn't on a rapid update cycle, so when the friends list tells me "2 in game", the community page shows no one playing games.
I can't see any way to disable or alter my preferences here - what gives?