Emperor Cat May 9 @ 11:50am
Your Steam Support Experience?
I want to know if everyone else's customer support experiences have been as bad as mine. Understand I want to love steam. I've been using it for over 5 years, and have 161 steam games.

I love valve as a company, so its lackluster support baffles me. I used to hate EA, and I don't admire them as a company, but how did it come about that dealing with EA customer support is pleasant and dealing with steam's is a nightmare?

Last year, when they charged my card twice for a purchase, I immediately contacted support. They did refund the second charge but said.

"In the future that Steam purchases, per the Steam Subscriber Agreement, are not refundable - this store credit was issued as a one-time customer service gesture."

A one time customer service gesture? You charged my account twice. What if someone in the drive through of a fast food joint ran your card twice. They agreed to refund it, but then told you if it ever happened again they would not? Hell no.

More recently, they seem to ignore the actual content of my messages altogether. Sending only semi-automated replies, repeatedly telling me my issue is resolved when it is not. Very long delays and at times communicating nothing at all.

I'm NOT going to be that guy saying I'm never going to by a steam game again. I will. Like I said, I would like to like steam. And I do.... but the lack of support is a real concern for me. Given Origin's rather stellar return policy and support infrastructure... Its enough that I may start seriously considering it as an alternative.
Thoughts?
Last edited by Emperor Cat; May 9 @ 11:53am
Showing 1-9 of 9 comments
< >
TeKraken May 9 @ 11:59am 
I'm fairly sure they say "one time" as to mean you have no further claim against "this" claim/mistake (whatever). They can not absolve themselves of any future responsibility just by including those words. Every store/company would do it.
Emperor Cat May 9 @ 12:08pm