EspiOne Feb 19 @ 12:56pm
Operating System for STEAM Games
First, I want to say, I am new to Steam, I came on board in DEC, 2013, I was on steam many years ago, when I purchased the "Orange Box", I actually purchased at the store, no download, yeah, that long ago. I am also a Certified A+ IT Technician, along with some Microsoft Certifications too. I got on board to steam with the purchase of two game bundles, BIOSHOCK and Borderlands. Since I was mainly gonna play these games I built a PC that met the minimum spec of the latest game, BSI, Q9650 with a 560 GTX Ti on Windows 7. My PSU died on that PC and I pulled out an older PC that ran Vista (yah, Vista), I only uploaded Borderlands 2 and it runs just fine.

When I did the downloads/install for BIOSHOCK bundle, I had issues running them in Windows 7 on the first PC, had to make some change and download extra stuff.

I am looking to re-purchase the "orange box", and a few older games. Which Operating System in your opinion would be better to run? Vista or Windows 7 for steam games?

Showing 1-8 of 8 comments
< >
rotNdude Feb 19 @ 1:54pm 
Vista and Win7 run the same kernel. Your choice.
[☥] - CJ - Feb 19 @ 2:13pm 
Win7 is by far better than Vista.
You having issues could be due to other problems.
IP3NIX Feb 19 @ 2:14pm 
and Windows 8 and Windows 8.1
However you are bound to run in a few problems related with steam and windows 8
Some problems have been fixed on Windows 8.1 but it's still meh, it's acceptable though
SharpObject1 Feb 19 @ 2:20pm 
Windows 7 64-bit is the most stable for gaming I would say.
LaTaleFan1985 Feb 19 @ 8:53pm 
Stick with Windows 7. Trust me, it's better than the trainwreck that is Windows 8 and 8.1.:P
EspiOne Feb 19 @ 9:02pm