Lamp Feb 27, 2013 @ 4:43pm
Install steam on SSD and games on HDD?
Is that possible? I want steam to load quickly but my SSD doesn't have enough space for all my games.

EDIT: Would "mklink" do the trick? I've never used it before.
Last edited by Lamp; Feb 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm
Showing 1-15 of 24 comments
< >
THE MARE Feb 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm 
Check out this tool: http://www.stefanjones.ca/steam/

So you can swap games between your SSD and your regular HDD. It's just using symbolic links but it makes it so much more convenient.
Last edited by THE MARE; Feb 27, 2013 @ 5:51pm
Lamp Feb 27, 2013 @ 6:58pm 
That seems like a simpler way than using the cmd prompt method. Thanks.
=>WuE<= 200_Puls Feb 27, 2013 @ 10:07pm 
You can do that with Steam itself. Check out the Steam Library folders in "Settings -> Download + Cloud". You can define additional folder on seperate hdd into which Steam will install the games. You have the chance to choose between the folders while installing the game. Be aware though that it might not work for every game as this is a feature of the new Content System which has not yet been enabled for all games.
THE MARE Feb 27, 2013 @ 10:09pm 
Originally posted by =>WuE<= 200_Puls:
You can do that with Steam itself. Check out the Steam Library folders in "Settings -> Download + Cloud". You can define additional folder on seperate hdd into which Steam will install the games. You have the chance to choose between the folders while installing the game. Be aware though that it might not work for every game as this is a feature of the new Content System which has not yet been enabled for all games.

Yes, but using symlinks gets around the problem of not all games using the new content system, and this lets him switch games back and forth to the SSD. If you use the seperate drives option in Steam you need to move the game files manually and then find the right appmanifest (and you can have hundreds of those) and edit the location in that so steam knows where to look.