Bodhammer Mar 5 @ 5:34pm
OMG - I suck with a gamepad...
So, last month I was at a friend’s house. He has an Xbox 360 and we tried to play BF3, i'm not a pro on the PC but I don't get own'd with BF3. I got owned with the Controller on the Xbox... Fast Forward - I just got a Xbox 360 Wireless pad and transmitter for the PC and tried to play Borderlands 2, a console port that is supposedly good with a game pad. I wanted to set the controller on fire - it feels so unnatural.

Here is my issue. I have kids and they are moving off the Wii. I have a buttload of steam games and thinking about a steambox/xb1/ps4 for the living room this year. Do I have to learn how to use a gamepad and/or am scarred for life with keyboard/mouse? (p.s. I'm old and have been playing FPS since Wolfinstein on a DX25...)

Help me OB1, you're my only hope.
Showing 1-5 of 5 comments
< >
Azza ☠ Mar 5 @ 5:43pm 
Online multiplayer FPS make a huge difference, the mouse allows people to aim ridiculously fast and with pinpoint accuracy. With the gamepad you get thumb rough accuracy.

Going from gamepad to mouse is a small learning curve and easy. However, going from mouse to gamepad is an annoying waste of time, depending on the game it has no additional value to learn. Once your aim is slightly off, it's often very difficult to make a minor adjustment in reticle position because of the dead zones in the analog stick responsiveness. Getting headshots 15 times in a row is a mission and a half, compared to doing the same on a mouse. So instead of adjusting your aim on a gamepad, you can adjust your right/left position to compensate, it's more about running and gunning or twitch sniping.
Last edited by Azza ☠; Mar 5 @ 5:48pm
Kablam0 Mar 5 @ 5:49pm 
You should see me 'play' Gears of War 2 on my 360 - you would witness a whole nother level of suck. I simply do not understand how others can get good at using a controller.

Sorry Bodhammer, I have nothing to offer you but my condolences. :)