mrh5474 Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm
Does Using Steam Monopolise Your Gaming?
This is not an attack on Steam, or other similar sites. It is just a thread to get fellow users of Steam's opinion.

I've been playing games through Steam for several months now. I like it. I like the community aspect, the deals on games, the massive indie scene that seems to be getting a lot of support from Steam, etc.

However, it seems to have grown from the copy protection system, which I was lead to believe it was at the start. The first time I became aware of it, was when I was required to play Half-life 2 solely through Steam.

Is this how it is going to be in the future though? If I want to play a certain game, am I going to have to 'sign up' for a certain 'club' so to speak?

Moreso however, is that I have now found myself purchasing and playing titles, because they are on Steam. And because of the deals. I can see in the background how this could all be sweet for games developers, and when does 'free choice' become cleverly aimed marketing?

When I look at some of my purchases, I know for a fact I would not have bought a lot of them had I been in a game store.

So am I a mindless sheep? Is that the future?
Showing 1-15 of 142 comments
< >
a.k.a. Dead Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm 
Digital download's will always require some form of an account, and the day's of physical media (of all type's) - are numbered.
Last edited by a.k.a. Dead; Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm
Dreakon Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm 
Originally posted by mrh5474:
Is this how it is going to be in the future though? If I want to play a certain game, am I going to have to 'sign up' for a certain 'club' so to speak?
Yes. Even DRM-free solutions like GOG still require you to have a GOG account. Digital downloads don't come out of thin air, and as long as that's the way gaming goes, you'll need to be a member of whatever sites/services to utilize them.