Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalkers 2013
Timbered Club Nov 29, 2012 @ 8:35pm
Hexproof/shroud question
If an opponent is using a creature with either hexproof or shroud, can a -1/-1 counter (i.e. Fume Spitter's activated ability) be placed on this creature? I wasn't sure if a counter was considered the same as a spell in this situation. Thanks
Showing 1-9 of 9 comments
< >
TempyLionHeart {c} Nov 29, 2012 @ 9:13pm 
Shroud: "This permanent or player can’t be the target of spells or abilities.”
Fumspitter is an creature "ability" and it says "target" in it, so it would not work on shroud.

Hexproof: "You can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control."
Fumspitter is under your control, is a creature "ability" and it says "target" in it, so it would not work on hexproof.
Timbered Club Nov 29, 2012 @ 9:15pm 
Got it, thanks for the info
rhym Nov 30, 2012 @ 6:06pm 
Basically it won't work if it has 'target' in the ability. Usually only abilites that effect the entire board can get around this.
Dr. Evil Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:06pm 
i wonedered that too
The Counter of Strikes Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:42am 
It's funny.. if it says "destroy any creature" then you can. If it says "destroy target creature" you can't....
The game does have some questionable aspects.
Mad_WoodElemental Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:11pm 
It is not the game it is the game's (magic the gathering) rules. Shroud means it can not be targeted. So destroy target creature wont work. But when it says "any creature", "each creature", "choose a creature" it does not target therefore you can use the spell without worrying about the shroud. Same applies to hexproof but for your opponent only. Hope it helps, Dan
Hobbes Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:15pm 
Any creature and each creature will circumvent hexproof and shroud. "Choose a creature" only works if it's forcing the opponent to sacrifice. Choosing a creature with a spell or an ability still counts as targetting.

Destroy any creature without enchantments (from the blue white deck) is AE, thus ignores the rules. It's all about the targetting aspect.
Bravo Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:44pm 
Originally posted by Hobbes:
Any creature and each creature will circumvent hexproof and shroud. "Choose a creature" only works if it's forcing the opponent to sacrifice. Choosing a creature with a spell or an ability still counts as targetting.

Destroy any creature without enchantments (from the blue white deck) is AE, thus ignores the rules. It's all about the targetting aspect.

Clone allows you to 'choose' a creature, and you can copy shrouded/hexproof creatures.
Mad_WoodElemental Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:49pm 
Yeah that is what I meant when I mentioned choose. Though they have updated the text on it and it doesn't say choose anymore, its copy of any creature now. But you get the idea.
Showing 1-9 of 9 comments
< >
Per page: 15 30 50
Date Posted: Nov 29, 2012 @ 8:35pm
Posts: 9