Wargame: European Escalation

View Stats:
nannerpuss Aug 15, 2014 @ 1:50am
Penalty for resetting deck?
I'm relatively new to this game and halfway into the Solo campaign with NATO. I am kind of confused as to why you can reset your deck before any game without a penalty.. or is there a penalty I'm not seeing? Also, does the solo campaign have anything at all to do with multiplayer or anything else? Does PACT start after I finish NATO?

It's almost like a cheat code being able to reset and remove useless units for a mission after you played once and saw everything the AI has.
Showing 1-5 of 5 comments
< >
ŊЏ | Shifu Aug 19, 2014 @ 6:43am 
I'm not sure if I get you right, but before every battle (not talking about campaign), you can select any of your decks you want and play the battle with the units in the deck. Losses in a battle are just temporary - the deck and the next battle are not influenced by those. The campaign is different: If you lose units, they're unavailable in the next campaign mission (unless you get reinforcements). There's no penalty as you imagine.
No, campaign is a linear set of missions you have to accomplish whilst Skrimish or Multiplayer battles are just .. a battle, not connected to any other battle. There are no missions whatsoever, but to win (the how's depending on the gamemode you play). There are 5 campaigns, 2 Nato, 2 Pact and one mixed if I recall that correctly - you have to finish the first before being able to play more - to play the last, you have to successfully play all previous campaigns.
nannerpuss Aug 19, 2014 @ 12:42pm 
Originally posted by TG.ŊЏ | Shifu:
I'm not sure if I get you right, but before every battle (not talking about campaign), you can select any of your decks you want and play the battle with the units in the deck. Losses in a battle are just temporary - the deck and the next battle are not influenced by those. The campaign is different: If you lose units, they're unavailable in the next campaign mission (unless you get reinforcements). There's no penalty as you imagine.
No, campaign is a linear set of missions you have to accomplish whilst Skrimish or Multiplayer battles are just .. a battle, not connected to any other battle. There are no missions whatsoever, but to win (the how's depending on the gamemode you play). There are 5 campaigns, 2 Nato, 2 Pact and one mixed if I recall that correctly - you have to finish the first before being able to play more - to play the last, you have to successfully play all previous campaigns.

Cool, makes sense I guess. I really wish you could reset the campaign though because like most noobs I burned up some good units with bad decisions early on. I just finished Peace Talks with all Stars and I only lost a handful of units. I was literally losing 20 units per mission before. Oh well.

BTW who's the genius at Eugen who thought a permanent, persistent single player campaign without any hint of starting over was a good idea? If it had some effect on multiplayer I could understand, but they are entirely separate things. I just got AirLand Battle on sale cheap though, so maybe they woke up and fixed it.
Last edited by nannerpuss; Aug 19, 2014 @ 12:42pm
ŊЏ | Shifu Aug 19, 2014 @ 3:39pm 
AirLand Battle's campaign a completely different approach. (not linear, but with campaign map - has con's and pro's)
You simply can do the first mission again and then when you do the second mission - you should have the units you didn't lose in the first mission that time. Also, you can completely start over (but you'll lose everything: level, Command Stars, decks and campaign progress) by deleting your profile.
nannerpuss Aug 19, 2014 @ 11:59pm 
Originally posted by TG.ŊЏ | Shifu:
AirLand Battle's campaign a completely different approach. (not linear, but with campaign map - has con's and pro's)
You simply can do the first mission again and then when you do the second mission - you should have the units you didn't lose in the first mission that time. Also, you can completely start over (but you'll lose everything: level, Command Stars, decks and campaign progress) by deleting your profile.

I cannot find a working method to delete the profile though. All the instructions I've seen are for old old version of Steam. The whole file system is changed now. I did delete my entire EugenSystems directory from my hidden Apps folder, turned off Cloud Sync, and it still saved everything.
ŊЏ | Shifu Aug 20, 2014 @ 6:07am 
Iirc (haven't done it for ages now), there are two folders: One in users\yourusername\SavedGames\EugenSystems\Wargame and the other one in Steam\userdaa\yourUserID\58610(WargameID)\remote with the files profile.someEnding and localpart_profile (or similar)
Showing 1-5 of 5 comments
< >
Per page: 15 30 50