Talisman: Digital Edition

Talisman: Digital Edition

View Stats:
rock_n_out Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:54am
Choosing Instructor Stat Increases
If you only pay 3 gold to the Instructor is there a way to choose which stat gets increased. Looking at the original card, and looking at discussions on that card online, it appears that you can choose to have either one's strength or one's craft increased, but I can't see an option for the online edition. From what I have experienced, you can only get a craft upgrade if you spend 6 gold and get a strength upgrade, first, too.
< >
Showing 1-14 of 14 comments
Nemomon Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:02am 
If You will cancel the possibility to gain a Strength point, You will be given an option to gain a Craft point.
rock_n_out Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:05am 
Thank you. I will try that next time.
Ixtab May 22, 2014 @ 10:56pm 
It would be really nice if it actually said that somewhere ingame. Also, after doing the instructor thing, I was unable to pick up the item that was also in that space.... shouldnt I have been able to pick it up?
rock_n_out May 23, 2014 @ 4:02am 
If you look at the top of the screnn you'll see it there! It's awkward because I rarely look up therein a game and I expect there's a fair bit of stuff I'm missing out on. That's strange about not being able to get the item. I'll see what happens next time I'm in the same situation.
Ixtab May 23, 2014 @ 4:28am 
Huh, I suppose I am just blind.... It really just seemed like I should have been able to choose after spending the gold... I guess its just the wording on the card that made it seem that way
rock_n_out May 23, 2014 @ 4:34am 
It's misleading no doubt. Could be made clearer. I'd want something in the middle of the screen in a box - not in small text at the top. You can choose - you've just got to refuse the offer when first made if that's not the stat increase you want. That too is also wierd as it reads as though you must want to cancel using the card at all.
Excommunicatus May 23, 2014 @ 10:17pm 
Originally posted by Ixtab:
It would be really nice if it actually said that somewhere ingame. Also, after doing the instructor thing, I was unable to pick up the item that was also in that space.... shouldnt I have been able to pick it up?

This probably falls under the 'if anything causes you to lose turns, your turn ends *immediately*' thing.

When you pay the Academy or Instructor for stats, you're going to lose a turn per point gained. The game then unceremoniously ends your turn *immediately*, preventing you from encountering other cards on the space. Works the same way as if you draw Siren along with other cards at Hidden Valley, for example - turn immediately ends, and you get hosed out of the other cards in the space.

I do agree though - intuitively, the Academy/Instructor shouldn't prevent your current turn from completing like that.

But now that's making me wonder, since I never actually paid close enough attention to it. See, when you lose a turn (like from drawing Siren) but have other unencountered cards in the space, the game treats your current, abruptly-ending turn as your turn lost, instead of losing your *next* turn. If Siren was the only card in that space, your turn ends normally and you do indeed lose your next turn.

Do Academy/Instructor work the same way? I know they certainly abruptly end your turn when used, preventing you from encountering other cards in the space - my question is whether or not the game treats that as one of the lost turns for the training. By all rights, they absolutely *should*, using Siren as precedence. But... and again, I haven't paid close enough attention to swear to it... something tells me I've always lost as many *future* turns as stat points I paid for, even if I wound up not being able to encounter other cards on the same turn.

Now I have to watch for this.
Ixtab May 23, 2014 @ 10:24pm 
Yeah, it seems like you end up losing two turns... or a turn and a half - if there are othercards on that space.
Excommunicatus May 24, 2014 @ 12:06am 
I was actually just able to test this out.

Had both the Instructor and Academy on Hidden Valley. I drew Succubus and Outlaw (courtesy of having a Fiend Slayer in tow). Encounter order then was Succubus, Instructor, Academy and finally Outlaw.

I beat up the Succubus, then, in order to test this with a vengeance, I bought 7 stat increases at the Instructor. My turn ended without encountering the Academy or Outlaw, as expected, and I started counting lost turns.

I lost my next 6 turns. Including the turn I actually bought the stats and didn't encounter cards, that's the 7 I should have lost. So, confirmed now that Instructor does follow the same turn-loss rules as Siren - if there are other cards in the space still not encountered yet on that turn, that loss of the remainder of your turn does correctly count as a 'lost turn'.

Obviously I couldn't check the Academy at the same time, but I presume it'll work just the same way. So, all's well that ends well - working as intended.
rock_n_out May 24, 2014 @ 7:40am 
Great stuff.
Thels May 25, 2014 @ 5:54am 
Note that the Instructor is a Stranger, and is encountered before gold/objects/followers, while the Academy is a Place, and is encountered after instead.

Overall, the interface is not very clear for either, but I'm not sure how to improve on it very well, without designing something specifically for those 2 cards.

The Rod of Ruin uses the same confusing system, but since it's always 2, it would be a lot easier to have that as a multiple choice option: 2 strength, 2 craft, 1 of each.
Excommunicatus May 25, 2014 @ 6:32am 
I wouldn't mind if Instructor, Academy, Rod of Ruin, and any future cards that deal with stat increases/decreases the same way had a different interface.

I picture the existing arrow-key thing, but with a second one below it in the same window. Label the top one Strength and the bottom one Craft, and just have it coded to cap at whatever the total max stat changes are (2 for Rod of Ruin, your gold total / 3 for Instructor/Academy, etc). Players could then see in a single step that Strength, Craft, or a mix can be affected, and see those totals together before continuing.
Ixtab May 25, 2014 @ 9:05am 
Originally posted by excommunicatus:
I wouldn't mind if Instructor, Academy, Rod of Ruin, and any future cards that deal with stat increases/decreases the same way had a different interface.

I picture the existing arrow-key thing, but with a second one below it in the same window. Label the top one Strength and the bottom one Craft, and just have it coded to cap at whatever the total max stat changes are (2 for Rod of Ruin, your gold total / 3 for Instructor/Academy, etc). Players could then see in a single step that Strength, Craft, or a mix can be affected, and see those totals together before continuing.

I dont see why it wasnt done this way to begin with. It makes a lot more sense.
tarasis Jul 16, 2014 @ 7:58am 
I got caught out by this recently. I had the Academy, and wanted to chose Craft, but it seemed like I was automatically given Strength. I had not seen the cancel to get a Craft thing mentioned above.

It would be better to have a dialog, like appears in other circumstances, so I can choose what I am learning.
< >
Showing 1-14 of 14 comments
Per page: 15 30 50