Dealer Sep 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm
Does the Mindgames Expansion change the original forever, or can you install and play them separately?
topic
Showing 1-8 of 8 comments
< >
silvaril Oct 1, 2013 @ 1:14pm 
Heya

DLC, therefore overwrites it's changes onto the original.

Steam currently does not offer us a way to individually activate / deactivate DLC, though it is one of the most requested features thus far in this set of discussions... :)

Of course, if it did, then we'd all be dealing with the fallout of savegames that have DLC content after the DLC has been deactivated...
*sigh*
Dealer Oct 1, 2013 @ 2:07pm 
thanks for the reply
fantredath Oct 4, 2013 @ 11:37am 
This answered my question as well
Two Clicks Oct 9, 2013 @ 3:09am 
Buy the DLC as a gift which you then save to your inventory. Play the original game until youre ready and then just award yourself the DLC from your inventory.

Thats how Im getting around it.
sfnhltb Oct 9, 2013 @ 6:49am 
Originally posted by silvaril:
Heya

DLC, therefore overwrites it's changes onto the original.

Steam currently does not offer us a way to individually activate / deactivate DLC, though it is one of the most requested features thus far in this set of discussions... :)

Of course, if it did, then we'd all be dealing with the fallout of savegames that have DLC content after the DLC has been deactivated...
*sigh*

I don't think realistically Steam can offer the ability to turn off DLCs once you have installed them, it would break many games/saves and lead to lots of support issues. It is going to have to be up to the developers of game changing DLC to enable users to turn those on and off and have the game able to deal with the consequences, so in this case it might be possible to keep two save game folders, with and without the DLC enabled, to avoid any mess (obviously games with dozens or hundreds of DLCs available that wouldn't be practical, although in most cases it is probably only one or two DLCs that really change the game).
dustbiter Oct 9, 2013 @ 3:52pm 
Have GOG The Pit + Mind games installed. Steam - The Pit minus DLC (or the other way round). Both save in the same location(users/USERNAME/appdata/roaming/sword of the stars - the pit) so manually make backups, of say mindgames when playing The Pit minus DLC.
PhyreMatrix Oct 17, 2013 @ 6:31am 
Originally posted by sfnhltb:
Originally posted by silvaril:
Heya

DLC, therefore overwrites it's changes onto the original.

Steam currently does not offer us a way to individually activate / deactivate DLC, though it is one of the most requested features thus far in this set of discussions... :)

Of course, if it did, then we'd all be dealing with the fallout of savegames that have DLC content after the DLC has been deactivated...
*sigh*

I don't think realistically Steam can offer the ability to turn off DLCs once you have installed them, it would break many games/saves and lead to lots of support issues. It is going to have to be up to the developers of game changing DLC to enable users to turn those on and off and have the game able to deal with the consequences, so in this case it might be possible to keep two save game folders, with and without the DLC enabled, to avoid any mess (obviously games with dozens or hundreds of DLCs available that wouldn't be practical, although in most cases it is probably only one or two DLCs that really change the game).
Actually in the Sleeping Dogs hub there's a thread that shows which files to remove to play without certain DLCs. Of course this is a different game but it can be done.
sfnhltb Oct 17, 2013 @ 7:59am 
Originally posted by PhyreMatrix:
Actually in the Sleeping Dogs hub there's a thread that shows which files to remove to play without certain DLCs. Of course this is a different game but it can be done.

I am sure it can be done, Steam has both versions of the game on its servers and could easily move you back and forth, that isn't the point though.

Lets pretend Steam implements this feature. So you roll back your installed version to vanilla and start the game up, load up your engineer save and despite being in vanilla you are somehow on level 35 which is where you were up to in Mind Games. What does the game do, crash I guess? You also have a bunch of MG only items, how does vanilla deal with that, seeing as there probably isn't any graphics or details of the item that it knows of?

Developers can develop such a feature if they feel it is worthwhile doing so, as they can put in code to deal with special cases or problems with turning DLC on or off, or they can implement different save folders that are used for certain DLC when appropriate. Steam doing it is much more problematic, as they have no control over the games code, so the results of such a feature could vary from game to game, it likely would introduce bugs, or create annoying usability issues - having Steam switch the contents of the save game folder to match which DLCs are installed could work with just 1 DLC, but if a game has even only 5 DLCs then that is 30 different combinations of which are turned on and off at any time, so that doesn't really work as a solution.
Showing 1-8 of 8 comments
< >
Per page: 15 30 50