silvaril Mar 15, 2013 @ 5:12pm
Save Games in Version 1.0.2
Heya

Please note that the previous Versions' AutoSave.sav is not being deleted on loading the savegame in Version 1.0.2.

This becomes an issue when the classless AutoSave is loaded instead of one of Class AutoSaves ( Marine, Engineer, Scout).

Should you then go "Ack! Wrong Save!" and exit the game, the classless AutoSave game is then saved to the Class slot appropriate to the character you were playing in that game, potentially overwriting any progress in that game since the older AutoSave.


Workarounds include:
1 ) Not Loading the AutoSave save game
2 ) Deleting the AutoSave.sav file from your "%AppData%\Sword of the Stars - The Pit" directory. ( This prevents further issues. )

Exploits include:
1 ) Using the AutoSave.sav file to "Back Up" known good progress through the game, and reloading from that after dying horribly...


History:
Versions of the game prior to 1.0.2 used a single AutoSave file instead of one SaveGame for each Class.
Moving from the single AutoSave to one SaveGame for each Class caused an issue in Version 1.0.2 where the original AutoSave was not deleted after the game was resumed using it.
If on a subsequent load, the player selected the AutoSave instead of the Class SaveGame then on exit the Class SaveGame was updated with the information from the AutoSave.
This may result in progress being lost, or in the recovery of your character if death had occurred.
Last edited by silvaril; Mar 18, 2013 @ 7:57pm
Showing 1-12 of 12 comments
< >
THE| Truth Mar 18, 2013 @ 1:59am 
Can you use an old save for the new version or not?
silvaril Mar 18, 2013 @ 3:21am 
Heya

SaveGames (AutoSave.sav) from the preceding version can be used.
k0s Mar 18, 2013 @ 12:35pm 
nice NOT!

all my savegames got lost.. are overwritten with farily old characters and progress...

this is kinda useless guys!

NOW i know why, because i had to pay time to visit forums...
silvaril Mar 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm 
Heya

Nice Hyperbole... :)

The AutoSave.sav file contains only One Character, not all Three.
So you would have only lost one of the three classes, from the game were playing before the Update.
Psyches Mar 18, 2013 @ 7:37pm 
Yeah but since i've played only one class as of now, I lost my rescent progress. PATCH IT UP ASAP !!
silvaril Mar 18, 2013 @ 7:56pm 
Heya

As stated in the top post, it does not need patching.

There are two perfectly good workarounds, one of which completely removes the issue.
( The delete the AutoSave.sav one )
k0s Mar 19, 2013 @ 11:38am 
in the end.. whatever solution i tried..

i had to start over!
THE| Truth Mar 19, 2013 @ 9:15pm 
Originally posted by k0s:
in the end.. whatever solution i tried..

i had to start over!

This is why U'm not updating until I finish this play.
Buman[NOM] Mar 21, 2013 @ 6:42pm 
Accidently clicked load auto save, OH WAIT, Autosave was 20 hours out of date and erased all my progress, no way to recover.This is ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ guys...
silvaril Mar 21, 2013 @ 6:58pm 
Heya

Refer Work Around 2.
k0s Mar 24, 2013 @ 5:52am 
REFER TO:

this is useless since your progress is lost!
you can not get your old data back...

instead of thinking ybout a BACKUP THE OLD FILES BEFORE WE ♥♥♥♥ING STICK OUR FINGERS IN IT!

you need more designers and caretakers in your team: your just codingwithout failsafe
silvaril Mar 25, 2013 @ 3:28pm 
Heya

Yes, we failed to delete your old save game after moving to the new savegame structure.

Why?
Because failing safely like that is more desirable than failing unsafely, where-in we delete your old savegame BEFORE moving to the new structure.
In which case you don't get to continue your old game at all...

But at least then it would have only been a problem once, and we wouldn't now be in the position of pointing out to people that the reason they are now losing gameplay is because they are selecting the wrong savegame in the Load Game screen.
Showing 1-12 of 12 comments
< >
Per page: 15 30 50
Date Posted: Mar 15, 2013 @ 5:12pm
Posts: 12