4Demon Nov 18, 2013 @ 2:30pm
Bad Folder Formatting
So I created a folder for my story as a basic template. I then realised that I should have art created, etc, and started using this folder to include things like graphics, and even the main game program.

A few days later, and after hours of work, I open up Articy again, and decide to start the story from scratch, so I delete the project and created a new one.

I then go back and start trying to edit my graphics, and it turns out when I deleted the Articy project from within Articy, it went ahead and cleaned out the entire folder.

I lost dozens of hours of work. Luckily I have it backed up elsewhere, but if I didn't, I would be severely ticked off.

Very bad software design. Don't be lazy and just clear entire folders. Be more precise and delete software specific files and folders Nevigo!!!
Last edited by 4Demon; Nov 18, 2013 @ 2:33pm
Showing 1-6 of 6 comments
< >
HighDarkTemplar Nov 25, 2013 @ 8:22am 
This isn't bad design, it's a matter of preference, plus, most professionals hates having to go clean up manually afterwards. Besides, any professional environment has preventative measures in place to avoid accidental deletions and modifications.
4Demon Nov 25, 2013 @ 10:14am 
Originally posted by HighDarkTemplar:
This isn't bad design, it's a matter of preference, plus, most professionals hates having to go clean up manually afterwards. Besides, any professional environment has preventative measures in place to avoid accidental deletions and modifications.

It's unusual then that the company got in contact with me and agreed with me and said they will patch in either a fix or a pop up message.

I can't think of the last time I deleted a file in a program and lost every other file and sub-folder.

Yes, it is bad design.
Nevigo | Kai Rosenkranz  [developer] Nov 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm 
Hi,

The incorrect behavior that 4Demon reported was this:

When you create a project within articy:draft, it automatically creates a folder structure for the internal project data to reside in. Now when you decide to place your own non-articy files inside these folders, they'll get deleted when you delete the articy:draft project. That is because we don't just delete all our files upon project deletion, but simply kill all our auto-created folders including all their content.

We didn't expect anyone to use our internal folders to store their data, but since it's technically possible, we'll have to be more robust here.

So, thanks again for reporting this, 4Demon. And thanks, HighDarkTemplar, for stepping into the breach for us. Both very much appreciated.

-Kai
4Demon Nov 27, 2013 @ 6:28pm 
Thanks for the clarification, Kai! As I said, I was lucky I had backed up all of my files elsewhere.

The first stage of my game design was with Articy, so I had my story and new folder in place. I then started creating the assets later, and so used the same folder created with Articy (creating other sub-folders - trying to be tidy *WHOOPS*).

I decided to start over on the story, and usually I would just delete the folders or save over the one I had already created, but saw the delete function within Articy.

I'd be very surprised if I was the only one that had ever done this... but if it hasn't been reported before...

Normally I would have just kept it to myself, after all I had recovered the files, but I was panicking for a short while, and wouldn't wish that on anyone, especially anyone who was further along in their development than I was :)

Thanks for your understanding!
4Demon Nov 27, 2013 @ 6:30pm 
I should also point out that this was using the demo. So having a bad experience like that would have immediately put me off the program had I not backed it up. More problems with the demo = even less sales...
HighDarkTemplar Nov 28, 2013 @ 5:21am 
Originally posted by Nevigo | Kai Rosenkranz:
Hi,

The incorrect behavior that 4Demon reported was this:

When you create a project within articy:draft, it automatically creates a folder structure for the internal project data to reside in. Now when you decide to place your own non-articy files inside these folders, they'll get deleted when you delete the articy:draft project. That is because we don't just delete all our files upon project deletion, but simply kill all our auto-created folders including all their content.

We didn't expect anyone to use our internal folders to store their data, but since it's technically possible, we'll have to be more robust here.

So, thanks again for reporting this, 4Demon. And thanks, HighDarkTemplar, for stepping into the breach for us. Both very much appreciated.

-Kai

My pleasure, Kai!
Showing 1-6 of 6 comments
< >
Per page: 15 30 50