Unmechanical > General Discussions > Topic Details
Oktober Storm Oct 5, 2012 @ 11:31am
Disable My Documents
So I'm about to start UnM, and I have the choice between UnM or UnM "Disable My Documents". Is this a feature, or a part of the game, or what? I could just try them both out, but if I don't notice any difference I'd like to know what I get from doing it.
Showing 1-7 of 7 comments
< >
j.w.yergan Oct 10, 2012 @ 3:46am 
I didn't have that pop up when I started, so I don't think it's a feature. I would message Steam directly or see if there's anything on your computer that is clashing with the ability to play the game. If you choose, I'd choose the one that does not "Disable Your Documents", that sounds kinda weird. I don't see any reason you'd have to disable anything to play. On the store page for UnMechanical it shows System Requirements near the bottom of the page, as Steam does with all its games, but nevertheless you should check to see if your system meets the standards and go from there. If you continue to have a problem you should contact Steam through email and they may be able to help you better.
Purple Tentacle Oct 28, 2012 @ 7:49am 
Getting the same popup.
If I had to guess: One stores it's settings and save games in you "My Documents" folder, the other doesn't. Still this is a very odd question to ask and some documentation or developer feedback would be nice.
lango Nov 10, 2012 @ 7:19pm 
It means that the configuration will not be stored in My Documents but in the steam application directory. Some users can not write to My Documents.
Fumbles0.0 Nov 26, 2012 @ 7:15pm 
I had the same pop up, chose the regular UnMechanical, it does not change the game in any way.
PigBros Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:18pm 
If that is true... it means that you could store to different (game savings) and choose wich one to play?... i mean... for example if two different people in the house wants to play each one choose a different option to save their game?
mendel Jan 26, 2013 @ 1:52pm 
From the FAQ at unmechanical.net:
Q: My game doesn’t save even though it says “Saving”. When I close the game and open it again I have to start from the beginning! Why?
A: You might either have moved your Documents folder to a non-standard location, or have unsupported characters in your Documents path (for example å, ä, ö), both cases are unsupported by the Unreal engine, hence it can’t save or load. To get around this issue, browse your way to your installation folder and \Binaries\Win32 where you can find UDK.exe, launch that directly instead.
So choose this option if you have non-ASCII characters in your windows username or in the My Documents path.
Last edited by mendel; Jan 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm
ReBoot Apr 2, 2013 @ 11:31pm 
Originally posted by PigBros:
If that is true... it means that you could store to different (game savings) and choose wich one to play?... i mean... for example if two different people in the house wants to play each one choose a different option to save their game?
You could just give the two poeple two different user accounts and save to My Documents then.
Showing 1-7 of 7 comments
< >
Per page: 15 30 50